29,9 million euros for basic security in old age and in the case of reduced earning capacity

___STEADY_PAYWALL___

In December 2020, 4.361 citizens in the Borken district received financial support as part of the “basic security in old age and with reduced earning capacity”. A year earlier, in December 2019, there were 3.829 fewer people. Karin Ostendorff, head of the social department of the Borken district administration, is now sharing these figures. The basic income support is intended to ensure the livelihood of elderly or permanently fully disabled people if their income and assets are insufficient. “Older” is defined as anyone who has exceeded the standard retirement age, which is currently increasing every year. The standard retirement age in 500 was 2020 years and eight to nine months.

Due to the effects of the Federal Participation Act, the number of beneficiaries for whom the Borken district is responsible as a social welfare provider has increased significantly. The Regional Association of Westphalia-Lippe was previously responsible for this group of people.

As Karin Ostendorff explains, the proportion of benefit recipients over the age limit of 1.912 people in December was 44 percent. In addition, there are 2.449 citizens between the ages of 18 and the age limit who are no longer able to earn a living from their own income or gainful employment because of illness or disability. “The decision as to whether a person is permanently fully disabled is made solely by the relevant pension insurance”, says Ostendorff about the assignment to this group of people.

The expenditures for the basic security amounted to a total of around 29,9 million euros (2019: 23,4 million euros). Since 2014, the federal government has been assuming the full amount.
Women and men below the age limit, who are only temporarily disabled and needy and who have no other entitlement to benefits, can receive “support for living”. In 2020, 406 people in the Borken district received these benefits. In the previous year there was an average of 394 people.
“Basic security in old age and with reduced earning capacity” as well as “support for subsistence” count as social assistance according to SGB XII in contrast to “basic security for job seekers” according to SGB II (“Hartz IV”). All three types of help serve to secure a livelihood; Every person in need of help is entitled to exactly one of these types of help, depending on their age and employability.

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt is a news portal. The articles published here consist of press releases from various sources as well as author contributions, which are usually displayed by attribution.

29,9 Millionen Euro für Grundsicherung im Alter und bei Erwerbsminderung

___STEADY_PAYWALL___

Im Dezember 2020 haben 4.361 Bürgerinnen und Bürger im Kreis Borken finanzielle Unterstützung im Rahmen der “Grundsicherung im Alter und bei Erwerbsminderung” erhalten. Ein Jahr zuvor, im Dezember 2019, waren es mit 3.829 noch rund 500 Personen weniger. Diese Zahlen teilt jetzt Karin Ostendorff, Leiterin des Fachbereichs Soziales der Kreisverwaltung Borken, mit. Die Grundsicherung soll den Bedarf für den Lebensunterhalt älterer oder dauerhaft voll erwerbsgeminderter Personen sicherstellen, wenn Einkommen und Vermögen dazu nicht ausreichen. Als “älter” gilt, wer die derzeit jährlich ansteigende Regelaltersgrenze überschritten hat. Die Regelaltersgrenze lag im Jahr 2020 bei 65 Jahren und acht bis neun Monaten.

Durch die Auswirkungen des Bundesteilhabegesetzes ist die Anzahl der leistungsberechtigten Personen, für die der Kreis Borken als Sozialhilfeträger zuständig ist, deutlich angestiegen. Zuvor war für diesen Personenkreis der Landschaftsverband Westfalen-Lippe zuständig.

Wie Karin Ostendorff erläutert, habe der Anteil der Leistungsempfänger über der Altersgrenze mit 1.912 Personen im Dezember bei 44 Prozent gelegen. Hinzu kommen 2.449 Bürgerinnen und Bürger zwischen 18 Jahren und der Altersgrenze, denen es wegen Krankheit oder Behinderung dauerhaft nicht mehr möglich ist, ihren Lebensunterhalt durch eigene Einkünfte beziehungsweise eigene Erwerbstätigkeit zu bestreiten. “Die Entscheidung, ob eine Person dauerhaft voll erwerbsgemindert ist, trifft allein die zuständige Rentenversicherung”, sagt Ostendorff zur Zuordnung zu diesem Personenkreis.

Die Ausgaben für die Grundsicherung beliefen sich insgesamt auf rund 29,9 Millionen Euro (2019: 23,4 Millionen Euro). Der Bund übernimmt seit dem Jahr 2014 die Aufwendungen in voller Höhe.
Frauen und Männer unter der Altersgrenze, die nur vorübergehend erwerbsunfähig und bedürftig sind und keine anderen Leistungsansprüche haben, können “Hilfe zum Lebensunterhalt” beziehen. In 2020 erhielten im Kreis Borken 406 Personen diese Leistungen. Im Vorjahr waren es im Durchschnitt noch 394 Personen.
“Grundsicherung im Alter und bei Erwerbsminderung” sowie die “Hilfe zum Lebensunterhalt” gelten als Sozialhilfe nach dem SGB XII in Abgrenzung zur “Grundsicherung für Arbeitsuchende” nach dem SGB II (“Hartz IV”). Alle drei Hilfearten dienen der Sicherung des Lebensunterhaltes; jede hilfebedürftige Person hat in Abhängigkeit von ihrem Alter und ihrer Erwerbsfähigkeit jeweils Anspruch auf genau eine dieser Hilfearten.

Über Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt ist ein Nachrichtenportal. Die hier veröffentlichen Artikel bestehen aus Pressemitteilungen verschiedener Quellen sowie aus Autorenbeiträgen, die in der Regel durch Namensnennung angezeigt werden.