Adventure Africa: Bocholt trainee helps build a primary school in Guinea

Adventure Africa: Bocholt trainee helps build a primary school in Guinea
ALL

So Jonas Terodde rarely sweated at work. At 40 degrees in the shade, the roofer trainee from the Bocholt-based company Schlatt & Söhne Dachtechnik volunteered to help build a new primary school in Guinea for four weeks in January.

The joint project in Santiguyah will soon enable girls and boys from four villages to get to school faster and more safely. The Guinean Ministry of Education and the Reconstruction Loan Corporation in Germany placed the order to build the school. It is planned and built by students from Aachen, Düsseldorf and the African Conakry. The budding technicians and architects are ALWAYS looking for help from practitioners in the trade.

Jonas Terodde's boss Markus Schlatt made his trainees aware of the project, gave them four weeks off, and also pledged a financial injection of 500 euros. The 17-year-old was thrilled and got started. After various vaccinations, the plane headed for Africa earlier this year.

For Jonas Terodde it was a trip to another world. "Somehow everything is different there in Africa," he reports. Some were simpler, but others were surprisingly modern. Unlike in Germany, for example, there is apparently fast Internet access in Guinea at every location. "LTE everywhere," Terodde recalls. So he could keep in touch with home at any time.

During the day, the prospective roofer helped to weld the roof racks and cross braces together for the school building. Communication with other helpers on the construction site was mainly done with hands and feet. From time to time an interpreter was on site.

In the evening we went back to an air-conditioned villa reserved for European guests. They met around the campfire, ate a lot of baguettes with omelets and drank a few beers.

Jonas Terodde particularly memorized a meeting with the students of the village. "We should all bring some gifts from Germany," says the 17-year-old. He had packed pens, notepads and erasers in his suitcase. These were received with loud "hooray".

The primary school will probably be ready in April. Then Jonas Terodde would love to go there again. "As a craftsman, you naturally want to see what has become of your work," he explains his motivation.

Made in Bocholt

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt is a news portal. The articles published here consist of press releases from various sources as well as author contributions, which are usually displayed by attribution.

Abenteuer Afrika: Bocholter Azubi hilft beim Bau einer Grundschule in Guinea

Abenteuer Afrika: Bocholter Azubi hilft beim Bau einer Grundschule in Guinea
all

So hat Jonas Terodde bei der Arbeit selten geschwitzt. Bei 40 Grad im Schatten half der Dachdeckerauszubildende der Bocholter Firma Schlatt & Söhne Dachtechnik im Januar vier Wochen lang freiwillig beim Neubau einer Grundschule in Guinea.

Das Gemeinschaftsprojekt in Santiguyah soll es den Mädchen und Jungen aus vier Dörfern demnächst ermöglichen, schneller und sicherer zur Schule zu kommen. Den Auftrag zum Bau der Schule haben das guineische Bildungsministerium und die Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau in Deutschland erteilt. Geplant und gebaut wird sie von Studenten aus Aachen, Düsseldorf und dem afrikanischen Conakry. Dabei suchen die angehenden Techniker und Architekten immer wieder AUCH die Hilfe von Praktikern aus dem Handwerk.

Jonas Teroddes Chef Markus Schlatt machte seinen Auszubildenden auf das Projekt aufmerksam, stellte diesen vier Wochen lang dafür frei und sagte zudem eine Finanzspritze in Höhe von 500 Euro zu. Der 17-Jährige war begeistert und legte los. Nach diversen Impfungen ging es Anfang des Jahres per Flugzeug in Richtung Afrika.

Für Jonas Terodde war es eine Reise in eine andere Welt. „Dort in Afrika ist irgendwie alles anders“, berichtet er. Manches sei schlichter gewesen, anderes aber auch überraschend modern. Anders als in Deutschland beispielsweise gibt es in Guinea scheinbar an jedem Ort schnellen Internetzugang. „Überall LTE“, erinnert sich Terodde. So konnte er jederzeit Kontakt zu Heimat halten.

Tagsüber half der angehende Dachdecker beim Zusammenschweißen der Dachträger und Querverstrebungen für das Schulgebäude mit. Die Verständigung mit anderen Helfern der Baustelle erfolgte überwiegend mit Händen und Füßen. Ab und zu war ein Dolmetscher vor Ort.

Abends ging es zurück in eine für die europäischen Gäste reservierte, klimatisierte Villa. Man traf sich am Lagerfeuer, aß viel Baguette mit Omelette und trank ein paar Bierchen.

Besonders eingeprägt hat sich Jonas Terodde ein Treffen mit den Schülerinnen und Schülern des Dorfes. „Wir sollten alle ein paar Geschenke aus Deutschland mitbringen“, berichtet der 17-jährige. Er selbst hatte Stifte, Schreibblöcke und Radiergummis in seinen Koffer gepackt. Diese wurden mit lauten „Hurra“ entgegengenommen.

Vermutlich im April wird die Grundschule fertig sein. Dann würde Jonas Terodde gerne noch einmal hinreisen. „Als Handwerker will man natürlich selbst sehen, was aus der Arbeit geworden ist, erklärt er seine Motivation.

Made in Bocholt

Über Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt ist ein Nachrichtenportal. Die hier veröffentlichen Artikel bestehen aus Pressemitteilungen verschiedener Quellen sowie aus Autorenbeiträgen, die in der Regel durch Namensnennung angezeigt werden.