Citizens' application for the Nordring: Social list wants citizen vote by council decision

Citizens' application for the Nordring: Social list wants citizen vote by council decision
Wählergemeinschaft Social List

Nordring: Social list wants citizens vote by council decision

Last year, the Bochum Socialist Voting Community in the East District Committee had spoken out in favor of citizen participation in the planned Nordring. Today, the voting community is asking for a citizens 'decision by means of a citizens' application.

In the application to Mayor Peter Nebelo, the council should decide that, in order to clarify the political will of the Bocholt citizens, the council would implement a citizens' decision on the basis of section 26 (1) sentence 2 of the NRW municipal code. For the vote, the question should be: "Are you in favor of the Nordring planned by the city of Bocholt not being built?" In addition, the administration should be commissioned to prepare the necessary measures for the implementation of the vote immediately.

"In a project of this importance, a council decision is urgently needed and a contribution to direct democracy," emphasized Councilor Bärbel Sauer, explaining: "The planned Nordring concerns everyone. It can rightly be expected that the citizens themselves will decide on this important issue. After all, it's about Bocholt's future, especially the question, do we want to invest millions of dollars in tax dollars in additional roads or do we better use the money to relieve the traffic situation to expand public transport and other alternatives? Another very important fact is that the planned construction of the north ring would destroy nature and the landscape, which could not be balanced at any point. ”

Torsten Wollberg (spokesman for environmental policy) added: “This would also be irresponsible, especially in view of climate change. In addition, it can be expected that there will be more traffic due to the planned north ring, but the level of noise and pollutants would also increase significantly. There are ancient oaks on the planned route, rare animal species live - for the most part everything is natural. Add to that the high construction costs of several million and the enormous consumption of scarce space. "

Regarding the proposal itself, Rainer Sauer (Chairman) declares that for years not only citizens have been able to initiate a referendum, but the councils can also decide to hold such a vote with a two-thirds majority. "The Council should give the green light for this and make a contribution to real public participation," appeals Sauer.

There is also a photo of the signature campaign for the electrification of the regional train "Der Bocholter" in the appendix. In the picture on the left you can see Bärbel Sauer, the second from the right Torsten Wollberg.

{} CAPTION

Voters Community Social List Bocholt

About Volunteer Community Social List Bocholt

On this page you can see contents of the voters community Social List. Responsible is the author. Articles published here do not reflect the opinion of the editors or the site operator.

Bürgerantrag zum Nordring: Soziale Liste will Bürgerabstimmung per Ratsbürgerentscheid

Bürgerantrag zum Nordring: Soziale Liste will Bürgerabstimmung per Ratsbürgerentscheid
Wählergemeinschaft Soziale Liste

Nordring: Soziale Liste will Bürgerabstimmung per Ratsbürgerentscheid

Bereits im vergangenen Jahr hatte sich die Wählergemeinschaft Soziale Liste Bocholt im Bezirksausschuss Ost für eine Bürgerbeteiligung zum geplanten Nordring ausgesprochen, heute nun fordert die Wählergemeinschaft per Bürgerantrag einen Ratsbürgerentscheid.

Im Antrag an Bürgermeister Peter Nebelo soll der Rat darüber beschließen, dass zur Klärung der politischen Willensbildung der Bocholter Bürgerinnen und Bürger der Rat auf der Grundlage des § 26 Abs. 1 Satz 2 der Gemeindeordnung NRW (GO NRW) einen Ratsbürgerentscheid durchführt. Zur Abstimmung soll die Fragestellung stehen: „Sind Sie dafür, dass der von der Stadt Bocholt geplante Nordring nicht gebaut wird?“ Außerdem soll die Verwaltung beauftragt werden, die erforderlichen Maßnahmen zur Durchführung der Abstimmung unverzüglich vorzubereiten.

„Bei einem Projekt dieser Bedeutung ist ein Ratsbürgerentscheid dringend geboten und ein Beitrag zur direkten Demokratie“, betont Ratsfrau Bärbel Sauer und erklärt dazu: „Der geplante Nordring geht allen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern was an. Zu Recht darf erwartet werden, dass über dieses wichtige Thema die Bürgerinnen und Bürger selber entscheiden. Immerhin geht es um Bocholts Zukunft, besonders um die Frage, wollen wir Steuergelder in Millionenhöhe in zusätzliche Straßen investieren oder das Geld zwecks Entlastung der Verkehrssituation besser für den Ausbau des ÖPNV und anderen Alternativen verwenden? Ganz entscheidend ist auch Tatsache, dass durch den geplanten Bau des Nordrings Natur und Landschaft zerstört würden, die an keiner Stelle ausgeglichen werden könnten.“

Torsten Wollberg (Umweltpolitischer Sprecher) ergänzt: „Auch und gerade angesichts des Klimawandels wäre dies unverantwortlich. Außerdem ist damit zu rechnen, dass es durch den geplanten Nordring mehr Verkehr geben wird, aber auch der Lärm- und Schadstoffpegel würde erheblich ansteigen. An der geplanten Trasse stehen uralte Eichen, leben seltene Tierarten – dort ist größtenteils alles naturbelassen. Hinzu kämen die hohen Baukosten von mehreren Millionen und der enorme Verbrauch knapper Flächen.“

Zum Antrag selber erklärt Rainer Sauer (Vorsitzender), dass bereits seit Jahren nicht nur Bürgerinnen und Bürger per Bürgerbegehren einen Bürgerentscheid herbeiführen, sondern auch die Räte mit Zwei-Drittel-Mehrheit die Durchführung einer solchen Abstimmung beschließen können. „Der Rat sollte hierfür grünes Licht geben und so einen Beitrag zur echten Bürgerbeteiligung leisten“, appelliert Sauer.

Außerdem befindet sich im Anhang ein Foto von der Unterschriften-Aktion zur Elektrifizierung des Regionalzuges „Der Bocholter“. Hier im Bild links ist Bärbel Sauer zu sehen, zweiter von rechts Torsten Wollberg.

{CAPTION}

Waehlergemeinschaft Soziale Liste Bocholt

Über Waehlergemeinschaft Soziale Liste Bocholt

Auf dieser Seite sehen Sie Inhalte der Wählergemeinschaft Soziale Liste. Verantwortlich ist der Autor. Hier veröffentlichte Artikel geben nicht die Meinung der Redaktion oder des Seitenbetreibers wider.