Explosions in Beirut: THW sends SEEBA to Lebanon

Explosions in Beirut: THW sends SEEBA to Lebanon
technical aid organization

Bocholt / Beirut; After serious explosions in the Lebanese capital Beirut on Tuesday, the Technical Relief Agency (THW) dispatched its first forces last night. On behalf of the federal government, a team from the Rapid Deployment Unit Salvage Abroad (SEEBA) and an embassy support team left for Lebanon. THW Vice President Sabine Lackner said goodbye to the 50 emergency services at Frankfurt Airport: “On site, our emergency services will, among other things, explore and assess the situation, locate and rescue people who have been buried, assess building damage and support the embassy. I wish all helpers every success - come back healthy. "

There were several explosions in the port area of ​​the Lebanese capital Beirut on Tuesday evening. The energy of the explosions corresponded to a magnitude 4,5 earthquake and was still felt in Cyprus, more than 250 kilometers away. According to current estimates, 4.000 people were injured, around 80 killed and many more missing. "Our experts are well prepared and trained so that they can best support the Lebanese population in coping with the disaster," said Lackner when the team departed.

A long-term helper from SEEBA from the Bocholt | Borken branch is also part of the rescue team. "I gave him our best wishes and we all hope that he and everyone else will return to Germany in good health," said Jan-Bernd Haas, local representative of the local association.

The SEEBA personnel are the specialists for rescue and recovery in disaster areas, for example after earthquakes. Equipped with modern technology and search dogs, the helpers are looking for survivors. The SEEBA forces are ready to take off within a few hours of being alerted. Your equipment is packed in light metal boxes and can therefore be transported in conventional commercial aircraft. The SEEBA was used after the severe earthquakes in Iran in 2003, in Pakistan in 2005 and in Japan in 2011, among other things. In 2017, it was reclassified as a so-called heavy team for earthquakes in accordance with the international framework (INSARAG guidelines) of the United Nations.

In addition to the SEEBA staff, a five-person team also set out to support the German Embassy. The team supports the embassy staff in crisis management. In addition, an expert from the Analytical Taskforce (ATF) and a construction consultant from THW are on site.

Source: THW
Photos: THW / Kai-Uwe Wärner
[Picture]

[Picture]

________________________________
Laura Vennekamp
Public Relations Officer

Federal Agency for Technical Relief
Bocholt / Borken local association
Enkhook 14
46395 Bocholt

Tel .: 0 28 71 - 21 82 9 - 0
Fax: 0 28 71 - 21 82 9 - 18
Email: Laura.Vennekamp@thw-bocholt.de<Laura.Vennekamp@thw-bocholt.de>

People - Technology - THW

------------------
Think Green - don't print this email unless you really need to

technical aid organization

About Technical Relief

On this page you can see contents of the Bocholt technical relief organization. Responsible is the author. Articles published here do not reflect the opinion of the editors or the site operator.

Explosionen in Beirut: THW entsendet SEEBA in den Libanon

Explosionen in Beirut: THW entsendet SEEBA in den Libanon
Technisches Hilfswerk

Bocholt/Beirut; Nach schwerwiegenden Explosionen in der libanesischen Hauptstadt Beirut am Dienstag hat das Technische Hilfswerk (THW) gestern Abend erste Kräfte entsendet. Im Auftrag der Bundesregierung brachen ein Team der Schnell-Einsatz-Einheit Bergung Ausland (SEEBA) sowie ein Botschaftsunterstützungsteam in den Libanon auf. THW-Vizepräsidentin Sabine Lackner verabschiedete die insgesamt 50 Einsatzkräfte am Frankfurter Flughafen: „Vor Ort werden unsere Einsatzkräfte unter anderem die Lage erkunden und beurteilen, Verschüttete lokalisieren und retten, Gebäudeschäden beurteilen und die Botschaft unterstützen. Ich wünsche allen Helferinnen und Helfern viel Erfolg – kommen Sie gesund wieder.“

Dienstagabend hat es im Hafenbereich der libanesischen Hauptstadt Beirut mehrere Explosionen gegeben. Die Energie der Explosionen entsprach einem Erdbeben der Stärke 4,5 und war noch im mehr als 250 Kilometer entfernten Zypern zu spüren. Nach momentanen Schätzungen wurden 4.000 Menschen verletzt, rund 80 getötet und viele weitere vermisst. „Unsere Expertinnen und Experten sind gut vorbereitet und geschult, so dass sie die Bevölkerung Libanons bestmöglich bei der Bewältigung der Katastrophe unterstützen können“, sagte Lackner beim Abflug des Teams.

Auch ein langjähriger Helfer der SEEBA aus dem Ortsverband Bocholt|Borken ist Teil des Rettungsteams. „Ich habe ihm unsere besten Wünsche mitgegeben und wir hoffen alle, dass er und alle anderen gesund nach Deutschland wiederkehren“, teilt Jan-Bernd Haas, Ortsbeauftragter des Ortsverbandes, mit.

Die SEEBA-Kräfte sind die Spezialisten für Rettung und Bergung in Katastrophengebieten, beispielsweise nach Erdbeben. Ausgestattet mit moderner Technik und Suchhunden suchen die Helferinnen und Helfer nach Überlebenden. Innerhalb von wenigen Stunden nach ihrer Alarmierung stehen die SEEBA-Kräfte zum Abflug bereit. Ihre Ausrüstung ist in Leichtmetallkisten verpackt und kann so in herkömmlichen Verkehrsflugzeugen transportiert werden. Die SEEBA war unter anderem nach den schweren Erdbeben im Iran 2003, in Pakistan 2005 und in Japan 2011 im Einsatz. Sie wurde 2017 gemäß der internationalen Rahmenvorgaben (INSARAG-Guidelines) der Vereinten Nationen als sog. Heavy-Team für Erdbeben reklassifiziert.

Neben den SEEBA-Kräften brach auch ein fünf-köpfiges Team zur Unterstützung der Deutschen Botschaft auf. Das Team unterstützt das Botschaftspersonal im Krisenmanagement. Zudem sind ein Experte der Analytical Taskforce (ATF) und ein Baufachberater des THW vor Ort.

Quelle: THW
Fotos: THW/Kai-Uwe Wärner
[Image]

[Image]

________________________________
Laura Vennekamp
Beauftragte für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Bundesanstalt Technisches Hilfswerk
Ortsverband Bocholt/Borken
Enkhook 14
46395 Bocholt

Tel.: 0 28 71 – 21 82 9 – 0
Fax: 0 28 71 – 21 82 9 – 18
E-Mail: Laura.Vennekamp@thw-bocholt.de<mailto:Laura.Vennekamp@thw-bocholt.de>

Menschen – Technik – THW

—————————————————-
Think Green – don’t print this email unless you really need to

Technisches Hilfswerk

Über Technisches Hilfswerk

Auf dieser Seite sehen Sie Inhalte des Technischen Hilfswerkes Bocholt. Verantwortlich ist der Autor. Hier veröffentlichte Artikel geben nicht die Meinung der Redaktion oder des Seitenbetreibers wider.