Town Hall monument - and would have had, bicycle chain ...

Town Hall monument - and would have had, bicycle chain ...
ALL

One comment BERTHOLD BLESENKEMPER

The local election is approaching. A visible sign of this is the increased number of requests from political parties. If you do not find news, you just like to dig old stuff again. Like now the social list. She wants to know from Mayor Peter Nebelo how it was then so in terms of monument protection with the Unterschutzstellung the Town Hall on Berliner Platz exactly. The answer has long been known. The city administration knew this at an early stage, but kept silent until all opposition periods had expired. And that's what she declared as a "communication breakdown". Mayor Peter Nebelo has taken responsibility for it. And the city council meeting accepted grumbling. Consequences (as always)

"Blame yourself" should be called to the Council. And this is also how Landrat Dr. Kai Zwicker. In a response to the complaint of a Bocholterin in terms of heritage protection of the Bocholt City Hall, the Made in Bocholt is present, says the head of the municipal supervision in Borken, that the policy itself could have been active.

Background: Basically, monument protection is a so-called business of day-to-day administration, about which the Council need not be informed. It looks different when it is an important matter. Only bad luck that does not regulate the church order exactly what is actually important. The decision is left to the mayor. And so the circle closes.

However, since there was already a political discussion about the possible renovation of the town hall, the importance in this case is exceptionally out of the question and Peter Nebelo should have informed the city council. But - would have had, bicycle chain - he did not do it. And in the opinion of the municipal supervisors, the Council did not oppose this "assessment of the mayor either". "He has raised no objections and has not claimed the right to seize the matter (§14 para. 3 GO)," said in a letter from Dr. Ing. Kai Zwicker.

In other words, the Council should have instructed the mayor at an early stage to inform him in good time in all matters relating to the town hall. Then the case would not have been a running business of administration. Remember: Trust is good, control is better. And that's exactly what the law wants. Years ago that would probably not have happened. But back then there was a real opposition in Bocholt with the SPD, which did not have to take account of a party colleague in the administrative top ...

Made in Bocholt

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt is a news portal. The articles published here consist of press releases from various sources as well as author contributions, which are usually displayed by attribution.

Rathaus-Denkmal – und hätte, hätte, Fahrradkette…

Rathaus-Denkmal – und hätte, hätte, Fahrradkette…
all

Ein Kommentar BERTHOLD BLESENKEMPER

Die Kommunalwahl rückt näher. Sichtbares Zeichen dafür ist die vermehrte Anzahl von Anfragen politischer Parteien. Wer nichts Aktuelles findet, gräbt gerne einfach Altes wieder aus. So wie jetzt die Soziale Liste. Sie will von Bürgermeister Peter Nebelo wissen, wie das denn damals so in Sachen Denkmalschutz mit der Unterschutzstellung des Rathauses am Berliner Platz ganz genau war. Dabei ist die Antwort längst bekannt. Die Stadtverwaltung hat die Sache bereits frühzeitig gewusst, aber so lange verschwiegen, bis alle Einspruchsfristen abgelaufen waren. Und das hat sie dann als „Kommunikationspanne“ deklariert. Bürgermeister Peter Nebelo hat die Verantwortung dafür übernommen. Und die Stadtverordnetenversammlung hat das grummelnd akzeptiert. Konsequenzen (wie immer) Fehlanzeige.

„Selbst schuld“ sollte man dem Rat zurufen. Und so ähnlich sieht es auch Landrat Dr. Kai Zwicker. In einer Antwort auf die Beschwerde einer Bocholterin in Sachen Denkmalschutz des Bocholter Rathauses, die Made in Bocholt vorliegt, meint der Chef der Kommunalaufsicht in Borken, dass die Politik durchaus selbst hätte aktiv werden können.

Zum Hintergrund: Grundsätzlich ist Denkmalschutz ein so genanntes Geschäft der laufenden Verwaltung, über die der Rat nicht informiert werden muss. Anders sieht es aus, wenn es sich um eine wichtige Angelegenheit handelt. Pech nur, das die Gemeindeordnung nicht exakt regelt, was tatsächlich wichtig ist. Das zu entscheiden, überlässt sie wiederum dem Bürgermeister. Und so schließt sich der Kreis.

Da es seinerzeit allerdings bereits eine politische Diskussion über die mögliche Sanierung des Rathauses gab, steht die Wichtigkeit in diesem Fall ausnahmsweise außer Frage und Peter Nebelo hätte die Stadtverordnetenversammlung informieren müssen. Aber – hätte, hätte, Fahrradkette – er tat es nicht. Und der Rat ist nach Auffassung der Kommunalaufsicht dieser „Einschätzung des Bürgermeisters auch nicht entgegen getreten“. „Er hat keine Einwendungen erhoben und auch nicht das Recht geltend gemacht, die Angelegenheit an sich zu ziehen (§14 Abs. 3 GO)“, heißt es in einem Schreiben von Dr. Kai Zwicker.

Anders ausgedrückt: Der Rat hätte den Bürgermeister frühzeitig anweisen müssen, ihn in allen Angelegenheiten rund um das Rathaus rechtzeitig zu informieren. Dann wäre der Fall kein laufendes Geschäft der Verwaltung mehr gewesen. Merke: Vertrauen ist gut, Kontrolle ist besser. Und genau so will es eigentlich auch das Gesetz. Vor Jahren wäre das alles wahrscheinlich nicht passiert. Aber damals gab es mit der SPD ja auch noch eine echte Opposition in Bocholt, die keine Rücksicht nehmen musste auf einen Parteifreund in der Verwaltungsspitze…

Made in Bocholt

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt ist ein Nachrichtenportal. Die hier veröffentlichen Artikel bestehen aus Pressemitteilungen verschiedener Quellen sowie aus Autorenbeiträgen, die in der Regel durch Namensnennung angezeigt werden.