Unusual: Council of elders pre-selects new department heads and treasurers

Unusual: Council of elders pre-selects new department heads and treasurers
ALL

From BERTHOLD BLESENKEMPER

As is well known, Bocholt is looking for an additional, third head of department. The (or the) should at the same time take over the duties of the treasurer Kai Elsweier (photo), who moved to the Märkischer Kreis. Six applicants were screened out of 43 entries. This sextet is now to be invited to a round of introductions on March 6th. Unusual: The preselection was not made by a technical committee or the council itself, but by the council of elders made up of the administrative board and the parliamentary group chairmen and supplemented by representatives of the AfD and the social list. Apparently, he now also conducts the job interviews - even though, according to the rules of procedure for the city council and its committees, he has no decision-making authority and is not allowed to discuss matters of the council or its committees.

For Mayor Thomas Kerkhoff this is not a problem. The council of elders only viewed the applications and made the pre-selection. "All parliamentary groups and also all members of the individual council know all the applications received," said city spokesman Karsten Tersteegen when asked by Made in Bocholt. The council of elders only makes suggestions. The main and finance committee will then officially decide on the procedure on March 3, who will be invited to an interview. The final election will be made later by the city council.

In this, however, members feel left out. Because, as it currently looks, they are supposed to decide in the main and finance committee as well as in the council on important personnel for Bocholt without having seen an applicant beforehand or knowing the alternatives personally.

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt is a news portal. The articles published here consist of press releases from various sources as well as author contributions, which are usually displayed by attribution.

Ungewöhnlich: Ältestenrat trifft Vorauswahl für neuen Dezernenten und Kämmerer

Ungewöhnlich: Ältestenrat trifft Vorauswahl für neuen Dezernenten und Kämmerer
all

Von BERTHOLD BLESENKEMPER

Bocholt sucht bekanntlich einen zusätzlichen, dritten Dezernenten. Der (oder die) soll gleichzeitig die Aufgaben des in den Märkischen Kreis gewechselten Kämmerers Kai Elsweier (Foto) übernehmen. Sechs Bewerberinnen und Bewerber wurden aus 43 Einsendungen ausgesiebt. Dieses Sextett soll jetzt zu einer Vorstellungsrunde am 6. März eingeladen werden. Ungewöhnlich dabei: Die Vorauswahl traf nicht etwa ein Fachausschuss oder der Rat selbst, sondern der aus Verwaltungsvorstand und den Fraktionsvorsitzenden gebildete und um Vertreter der AfD und der Sozialen Liste ergänzte Ältestenrat. Der führt offenbar nun auch die Vorstellungsgespräche – und das, obwohl er laut Geschäftsordnung für die Stadtverordnetenversammlung und ihrer Ausschüsse keinerlei Beschlusskompetenz hat und Angelegenheiten des Rates oder seiner Ausschüsse auch nicht vorberaten darf.

Für Bürgermeister Thomas Kerkhoff ist das indes kein Problem. Der Ältestenrat habe lediglich die Bewerbungen gesichtet und die Vorauswahl getroffen. „Alle Fraktionen und auch alle Einzelratsmitglieder kennen alle eingegangenen Bewerbungen“, so Stadtsprecher Karsten Tersteegen auf Anfrage von Made in Bocholt. Der Ältestenrat mache auch nur Vorschläge. Offiziell entscheidet dann der Haupt- und Finanzausschuss am 3. März über das Verfahren, wer zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch eingeladen wird. Die endgültige Wahl erfolgt später durch die Stadtverordnetenversammlung.

In der aber fühlen sich Mitglieder übergangen. Denn sie sollen, so wie es momentan aussieht, sowohl im Haupt- und Finanzausschuss als auch im Rat über eine für die Stadt wichtige Personalie für Bocholt entscheiden, ohne einen Bewerber oder eine Bewerberin vorher gesehen zu haben oder die Alternativen persönlich zu kennen.

Über Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt ist ein Nachrichtenportal. Die hier veröffentlichen Artikel bestehen aus Pressemitteilungen verschiedener Quellen sowie aus Autorenbeiträgen, die in der Regel durch Namensnennung angezeigt werden.