Gigaset: The exciting story behind the smartphone Made in Germany

Smartphone "Made in Germany" - or more precisely produced in Bocholt? The international Gigaset AG, so far known for its DECT cordless phones, proves that this is a success.

But behind the success story from German lands, behind today's "hidden champion", lies a varied company history and at the same time a model example of the transformation towards the industry 4.0 and digitization processes, which many companies in Germany are facing.

Klaus Weßing is the man who drives the transformation of Gigaset AG as CEO. In an interview with Anna Schäfer he describes the challenges that have arisen for the company since its spin-off from Siemens in the year 2008.

The sometimes painful restructuring was accompanied by a comprehensive restructuring of the company, consistent reorientation towards new products such as smartphones and smart homes and a major innovation offensive in all areas.

Gigaset AG has not only opened up new markets in addition to the classic core business of DECT cordless telephones - the professional, smart home and smartphone sectors. But with the consistent use of what is commonly referred to as the industry 4.0, the feat accomplished, at the site Bocholt highly profitable and competitive too
to produce. These include the use of robotic systems and human-machine collaboration.

More about Gigaset at www.gigaset.com

Made in Bocholt

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt is a news portal. The articles published here consist of press releases from various sources as well as author contributions, which are usually displayed by attribution.

Gigaset: Die aufregende Geschichte hinter dem Smartphone Made in Germany

Smartphone „Made in Germany“ – oder genauer: produziert in Bocholt? Dass das erfolgreich geht, beweist die international agierende Gigaset AG, bislang vor allem bekannt für DECT-Schnurlostelefone.

Doch hinter der Erfolgsstory aus deutschen Landen, hinter dem heutigen „Hidden Champion“, steckt eine wechselvolle Unternehmensgeschichte und zugleich ein Musterbeispiel für die Transformation hin zur Industrie 4.0 und Digitalisierungsprozessen, vor der viele Unternehmen in Deutschland stehen.

Klaus Weßing ist der Mann, der als CEO den Wandel der Gigaset AG treibt. Im Interview mit Anna Schäfer beschreibt er die Herausforderungen, die sich für das Unternehmen seit seiner Abspaltung von Siemens im Jahr 2008 ergaben.

Die teilweise schmerzhaften Restrukturierungen gingen einher mit einem umfassenden Unternehmensumbau, konsequenten Neuausrichtung auf neue Produkte wie Smartphones und Smart Home und einer großen Innovationsoffensive in allen Bereichen.

Die Gigaset AG hat sich mit den Bereichen Professional, Smart Home und Smartphone nicht nur neuen Märkten neben dem klassischen Kerngeschäft der DECT-Schnurlostelefone geöffnet. Sondern mit dem konsequenten Einsatz dessen, was gemeinhin als Industrie 4.0 bezeichnet wird, das Kunststück fertiggebracht, am Standort Bocholt hochprofitabel und wettbewerbsfähig zu
produzieren. Dazu zählen der Einsatz von Robotersystemen und Mensch-Maschinen-Kollaboration.

Mehr über Gigaset unter www.gigaset.com

Made in Bocholt

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt ist ein Nachrichtenportal. Die hier veröffentlichen Artikel bestehen aus Pressemitteilungen verschiedener Quellen sowie aus Autorenbeiträgen, die in der Regel durch Namensnennung angezeigt werden.