Domestic industry sales grew - but a sharp drop in international business

Domestic industry sales grew - but a sharp drop in international business
ALL

It was only thanks to strong domestic demand that the North-Westphalian industry continued to develop in the national trend in the first three months of the year. The IHK Nord Westfalen has calculated this based on current state statistics. Growth of almost two percent in domestic sales is offset by a decline of over 14 percent in international business.

The bottom line is that the industrial companies in Münsterland and the Emscher-Lippe region achieved total sales of 9,5 billion euros. According to the IHK Nord Westfalen, that was 5,6 percent less than in the same period last year. The decline is only slightly above the national average (5 percent). In NRW as a whole, both domestic sales (-3,1 percent) and foreign sales decreased (-7,1 percent).

The IHK Nord Westfalen attributes the positive development in domestic sales above all to the food industry, which had also outperformed in the past year. A regional focus lies in the district of Coesfeld, where domestic sales have even increased by 13 percent (NRW +11 percent).

With regard to the industrial balance sheet for the Münsterland region, the Chamber of Industry and Commerce points to a stronger statistical base effect: Last year, overall foreign sales in the Münsterland region rose exceptionally strongly due to a special development in the Warendorf district, so that the current decline is even more pronounced. The current minus in foreign sales amounts to 17,9 percent. Domestic sales increased by 1,2 percent.

It is also striking from the IHK's point of view that the Emscher-Lippe region reacts less strongly to the economic development: here, domestic sales even increased by 3,6 percent, while international sales declined less than in the IHK district as a whole, namely by 4,7 percent. As a result, total sales decreased only slightly, namely by 0,3 percent.

Industrial sales in the first quarter of 2020:

Total sales:
IHK district North Westphalia: 9,5 billion euros (- 5,6 percent)
Münsterland: 6,9 billion euros (-7,4 percent)
Emscher-Lippe region: 2,6 billion euros (-0,3 percent)

Made in Bocholt

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt is a news portal. The articles published here consist of press releases from various sources as well as author contributions, which are usually displayed by attribution.

Inlandsumsatz der Industrie gewachsen – aber starker Einbruch im Auslandsgeschäft

Inlandsumsatz der Industrie gewachsen – aber starker Einbruch im Auslandsgeschäft
all

Nur dank einer starken Binnennachfrage hat sich die nord-westfälische Industrie in den ersten drei Monaten des Jahres noch im Landestrend entwickelt. Das hat die IHK Nord Westfalen auf Grundlage einer aktuellen Landesstatistik errechnet. Einem Wachstum von knapp zwei Prozent beim Inlandsumsatz steht demnach ein Rückgang von über 14 Prozent beim Auslandsgeschäft gegenüber.

Unterm Strich erzielten die Industrieunternehmen im Münsterland und in der Emscher-Lippe-Region einen Gesamtumsatz von 9,5 Milliarden Euro. Das waren nach Angaben der IHK Nord Westfalen 5,6 Prozent weniger als im gleichen Zeitraum des Vorjahres. Der Rückgang liegt damit nur gering über dem Landesdurchschnitt (5 Prozent). In NRW insgesamt waren sowohl die Inlandsumsätze (-3,1 Prozent) als auch die Auslandsumsätze gesunken (-7,1 Prozent).

Die positive Entwicklung beim Inlandsumsatz führt die IHK Nord Westfalen vor allem auf die Ernährungsindustrie zurück, die sich auch im vergangenen Jahr überdurchschnittlich entwickelt hatte. Ein regionaler Schwerpunkt liegt im Kreis Coesfeld, wo die Inlandsumsätze sogar um 13 Prozent gestiegen sind (NRW +11 Prozent).

Bei der Industriebilanz für das Münsterland verweist die IHK auf einen stärkeren statistischen Basiseffekt: Im vergangenen Jahr waren die Auslandsumsätze im Münsterland insgesamt durch eine Sonderentwicklung im Kreis Warendorf außergewöhnlich stark gestiegen, so dass der aktuelle Rückgang umso stärker ausfällt. Das aktuelle Minus bei den Auslandsumsätzen beläuft sich auf 17,9 Prozent. Die Inlandsumsätze haben um 1,2 Prozent zugelegt.

Auffällig aus Sicht der IHK ist zudem, dass die Emscher-Lippe-Region weniger stark auf die konjunkturelle Entwicklung reagiert: Hier legten die Inlandsumsätze sogar um 3,6 Prozent zu, während die Auslandsumsätze weniger stark zurückgingen als im IHK-Bezirk insgesamt, nämlich um 4,7 Prozent. Der Gesamtumsatz ging dadurch nur geringfügig zurück, nämlich um 0,3 Prozent.

Industrieumsätze im ersten Quartal 2020:

Gesamtumsatz:
IHK-Bezirk Nord Westfalen: 9,5 Milliarden Euro (- 5,6 Prozent)
Münsterland: 6,9 Milliarden Euro (-7,4 Prozent)
Emscher-Lippe-Region: 2,6 Milliarden Euro (-0,3 Prozent)

Made in Bocholt

Über Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt ist ein Nachrichtenportal. Die hier veröffentlichen Artikel bestehen aus Pressemitteilungen verschiedener Quellen sowie aus Autorenbeiträgen, die in der Regel durch Namensnennung angezeigt werden.