Council majority does not want "climate emergency" for Bocholt

Council majority does not want "climate emergency" for Bocholt
ALL

For some it was more of a symbolic act, for others it was a sign of blind populism. In the end, the bourgeois majority of CDU, City Party, FDP and Mayor Peter Nebelo (SPD) prevailed in the city council and spoke against calling out the demand for climate change demanded by the SPD for Bocholt. "We are already doing the maximum," city building officer Daniel Zöhler had previously meant.

From the beginning, a heated debate developed. While the SPD, the Social List, the Greens and the Left wanted to follow the example of cities like Münster, Telgte or Konstanz and oblige politicians to consider climate change in every decision in the future, all others were strongly against it. "Blind Actionism", so their argument. The administration was against it. Burkhard Henneken (FDP) warned against limiting himself. He hinted that the traditional Bocholter Kirmes, which will eventually produce 60 tonnes of garbage, could also be on the verge.

Town Planning Council Zöhler thought it was absurd, that of all the Climate Community Bocholt wanted to exclaim the climate emergency. Anyone who does such a thing, on the other hand, can not seriously decide to expand the industrial park in Mussum, according to one of his arguments. In the end, a majority of 26 Council members opposed the motion of the SPD.

Made in Bocholt

About Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt is a news portal. The articles published here consist of press releases from various sources as well as author contributions, which are usually displayed by attribution.

Ratsmehrheit will “Klimanotstand” für Bocholt nicht

Ratsmehrheit will “Klimanotstand” für Bocholt  nicht
all

Für die einen war es mehr ein eher symbolischer Akt, für die anderen ein Zeichen von blindem Populismus. Am Ende setzte sich die bürgerliche Mehrheit von CDU, Stadtpartei, FDP sowie Bürgermeister Peter Nebelo (SPD) durch in der Stadtverordnetenversammlung durch und sprach sich dagegen aus, den von der SPD geforderte Klimanotstand für Bocholt ausrufen. „Wir tuen doch bereits das Maximale“, hatte zuvor Stadtbaurat Daniel Zöhler gemeint.

Von Beginn entwickelte sich eine hitzige Debatte. Während die SPD, die Soziale Liste, die Grünen und die Linken den Beispielen von Städten wie Münster, Telgte oder Konstanz folgen und die Politik dazu verpflichten wollten, künftig bei jeder Entscheidung die Auswirkungen auf das Klima zu berücksichtigen, waren alle andern Strikt dagegen. „Blinder Aktionismus“, so ihr Argument. Auch die Verwaltung war dagegen. Burkhard Henneken (FDP) warnte davor, sich selbst zu beschränken. Er deutete an, dass dann auch die traditionsreiche Bocholter Kirmes, die schließlich 60 Tonnen Müll produziere, auf der Kippe stehen könnte.

Stadtbaurat Zöhler hielt es für widersinnig, dass ausgerechnet die Klimakommune Bocholt den Klimanotstand ausrufen wolle. Wer so etwas mache, könne auf der anderen Seite nicht ernsthaft die Erweiterung des Industrieparks in Mussum beschließen, so eines seiner Argumente. Am Ende sprach sich eine Mehrheit von 26 Ratsmitgliedern gegen den Antrag der SPD aus.

Made in Bocholt

Über Made in Bocholt

Made in Bocholt ist ein Nachrichtenportal. Die hier veröffentlichen Artikel bestehen aus Pressemitteilungen verschiedener Quellen sowie aus Autorenbeiträgen, die in der Regel durch Namensnennung angezeigt werden.